A blog for dum ideas that are too long to fit on my Facebook status

Beer #2 – Blue Point Winter Ale

Again, another beer I’ve had before (I bought a 6 pack of it on a whim a little ways back) from one of my favorite New York breweries, Blue Point Brewing Company.  These guys make solid craft brews (including possibly my favorite IPA, but that’s for another post) and are top-notch in their customer service.  I bought a mixed pack of summer beers last August and noticed one of the caps was bent back and had exposed the beer to the air.  Then I noticed that one of the other beers in the pack was flat and didn’t have any flavor, which made me think that maybe it had been improperly capped in a way that wasn’t visible to the naked eye.  The rest of the beers in there were as tasty as I expected them to be.  I emailed one of their managers, Nick Burford with all the info I could find about the beer, not because I wanted to complain, but because I was actually concerned that something could be wrong with their equipment and I didn’t want them to have it happen again.   He emailed me back promptly and offered me a free growler if I was ever in the area.  I have yet to take him up on that offer but plan to in the coming year.  Needless to say, I’m impressed by their beer and their customer relations.  Onto the beer.

Blue Point Winter Ale, Blue Point Brewing Company
New York, United States of A
American Amber Ale/Red Ale, 7.0% ABV

Aroma: Nice aroma, relatively balanced and nothing overly sweet from the malts.

Appearance: Great head of foam, dark brown/amber color or basically, the same color as the bottle.  Great lacing as I drank it down.

Flavor: Hoppy up front and on the finish, hint of malt, couldn’t taste any spices.  Didn’t notice the 7% alcohol in the flavor.

Mouthfeel: Coats the mouth with a full body.

Overall: Had great lacing so there are quality ingredients in this beer.  It’s not a bad ale by any means but lacked the spice notes I am looking for/used to in a Winter Ale.  Decent product, but not Blue Point’s best.  That vote goes to the Hoptical, which I will review soon.

*One note to finish with.  If I don’t smell it or taste it, I won’t say that I did.  My palette responds better to spicy and bitter than sweet.  I try not to read any reviews or descriptions of the beer before I write these so I’m not prepped to pick up any flavors.  Maybe that’s the wrong way to do it, but I think it keeps me the most honest.

Leave a Reply

