A blog for dum ideas that are too long to fit on my Facebook status

Beer #3 – Samuel Adams Boston Lager

So I first saw the Sam Adams commercials before I really got into beer.  They were actually made pretty famous by the Samuel Jackon parodies made by Dave Chappelle.  It took my a while to try them actually (which maybe says that their marketing campaign didn’t work as well as they would’ve liked) and I’ll admit that they aren’t my favorite brewery out there.  That’s not to say that they are bad, but until recently, their beers were pretty safe, meaning, they made a lot of session beers that had wide appeal.  In no way is this a bad thing overall, since they really helped put craft brewing on the map in the United States (although they of course were not the only ones that had a hand in this).  But recently, I feel like Sam Adams has felt the pressure from other craft brewers who are now pushing the envelope in terms of flavors, styles, and alcohol content.  In what seems to me like an effort to reclaim a place among the craft brews, they are releasing their Imperial Series, Barrel Room Collection, and other series.  Some of these are quite impressive and I think it’s a good move by the company.  But today, I’m reviewing an oldie, but goodie, the original Boston Lager.

Samuel Adams Boston Lager, Boston Beer Company
Boston, MA, United States of A
Vienna Lager, 4.9% ABV

Aroma: Nice malt sweetness, hint of hops, sort of piney.

Appearance: Amber color, small head, nice carbonation.  Some nice lacing on the glass.

Flavor: Malts up from with quite a bit of hops actually on the finish.

Mouthfeel: Light to medium, present carbonation gives it a nice crispness.

Overall: I respect the brewery and what they have done for brewing in America, but after having other lagers, this one isn’t near the top of my list.  It’s a little light and lacks the complexity of other lagers I’ve had.  Better than the mass-market lagers, but I feel it could offer more.  However, for its style of a Vienna Lager, it’s a pretty decent example.  My lager preference is for more malts and complexity.

Leave a Reply

