A blog for dum ideas that are too long to fit on my Facebook status

Beer #10 – Clown Shoes Lubrication

Most people think of Massachusetts beer and instantly think of Sam Adams.  I know I do.  However, there are many other breweries there worthy of respect.  I have actually never heard of Clown Shoes in my life.  I was in the beer store the other day and just grabbed a bunch of random bottles and one of them happened to be this beer.  I was intrigued by the fact that it was a black ale as I thought it would be a good winterish beer.  So I present to you, the Lubrication Black Ale from Clown Shoes.

Lubrication, Clown Shoes/Mercury Brewing Company
Massachusetts, United States of A
American Black Ale, 6.0% ABV

Aroma: Chocolate and coffee, hint of licorice when I first poured it, when you inhale after letting it sit a second you get deep roasty and earthy aromas.  This beer smells GOOD.

Appearance: Pours thick and black, great head of foam forms, nice lacing.

Flavor: Coffee up front, malt (hint of dark chocolate) sweetness and then lingering roasted bittnerness on the finish.

Mouthfeel: Nice carbonation, coats the mouth in a smooth/velvety way.

Overall: This is a solid black ale.  As a Black IPA, it’s fantastic.  The deep aroma and flavors are really nice up front and the hop bitterness balances well with the dark chocolate and coffee malts.  A new winter favorite of mine, man is it good.

Leave a Reply

