A blog for dum ideas that are too long to fit on my Facebook status

Beer #14 – Full Sail Amber Ale

When I think of Oregon, I think of Oregon Trail, perhaps the best game ever.  I remember waiting in line in my elementary school classroom so I could add someone I hated as the last member of my wagon party and watch them die of dysentary.  Just kidding, I wasn’t that mean.  Maybe if they had had beer in the game, not everyone would’ve died of weird stuff, or they would’ve died happy.  Full Sail is an employee owned brewing company out of Hood River, Oregon.  It was started in 1987 and now has a workforce of 47 people, who all became owners in 1999.  They’ve been recognized as one of the best local businesses in Oregon and one of the most environmentally responsible American breweries.  So bravo to these guys.  Anyway, today I’m reviewing one of their flagships, their Amber Ale.

Amber Ale, Full Sail Brewing Company
Oregon, United States of A
American Amber Ale, 5.5% ABV

Aroma: Grassy hops, faint malt sweetness.

Appearance: Dark amber, small head of foam, exhibits nice lacing.  I wanted better retention but maybe it was my glass.

Flavor:  Decent malt flavor up front with a nice and complex sweet then citrusy and bitter finish.  Great finish on this beer.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied, with nice carbonation.

Overall: Very nice Amber ale.  It’s got good balance between malts and hops, nice lacing and it’s not overly malty. Very nice example of the style.  I’d definitely drink this again.

2 responses

  1. Kristen S

    Just used this in a beer braised rib recipe tonight…picked it totally at random at the store this morning…was good in the recipe…

    February 26, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    • Chris

      What? that’s awesome!

      February 27, 2012 at 7:13 am

Leave a Reply

